Model of a Bainbridge Mass Spectrometer

A Wien filter (velocity-selector) allows to isolate particles with a specific velocity of a particle beam. To investigate the mass of the particles the experimental setup must be extended. A simple setup to examine the mass of particles is the Bainbridge Mass Spectrometer.

Setup:

In the extended setup the magnetic field does not end on the aperture. So, after passing the velocity-selector, stay in the magnetic field. There the Lorentz force is the only force that affects the motion of the particles. So the particles start moving in a circle. In addition to the setup of a Wien filter there is a detector plate on the back of the aperture. This plate detects where the particles impinge.
Setup of a Bainbridge Mass Spekctrometer

Function:

If a charged particle moves with velocity v in the presence of a magnetic field B, then it will experience a Lorentz force perpendicular to the direction on motion:$$F_{\rm{Lorentz}}=q\cdot v\cdot B$$ This force causes that the particles start moving in a circle because the Lorentz force acts as centripetal force on the particles. The radius of the circular motion is:$$F_{\rm{Lorentz}}=F_{\rm{Zentripetal}}\Rightarrow q\cdot v\cdot B=m\cdot \frac{v^2}{r} \Rightarrow r=\frac{m\cdot v}{q\cdot B}$$ Because of the velocity selctor all particles have the velocity $v=v_{\text{passage}}$.
With $v_{\text{passage}}=\frac{E}{B}$ follows$$r=\frac{m\cdot v_{\text{passage}}}{q\cdot B}= \frac{m\cdot E}{q\cdot B^2}$$ So particles with equal charge and different mass move on circular paths with different radius. So, they collide with the detector plate on different places. With the distance $d=2\cdot r$ between the impact point and the aperture of the velocity selector, the mass of the particles can be calculated with$$m=\frac{q\cdot B\cdot d}{2\cdot v_{\text{passage}}}=\frac{q\cdot B^2\cdot d}{2\cdot E}$$

Restrictions:

With a Bainbridge Mass Spectrometer only charged particles can be examined. So uncharged particles must be charged at first.
Furthermore, the charge must be known to calculate the mass of the particles. Otherwise, only the specific charge q/m can be calculated.
Particles with the same charge-mass-ratio impact impact on the detector plate in the same distance d from the aperture.

Funktionsmodell eines Massenspektrometers nach Bainbridge

Mithilfe des Wienfilters lassen sich aus einem Teilchenstrahl Teilchen einer bestimmten Geschwindigkeit isolieren. Um zu untersuchen, welche Massen die Teilchen dieses Strahl besitzen, erweitert man den Versuchsaufbau zu einem Massenspektrometer.

Aufbau:

Dabei endet das Magnetfeld nun nicht mehr an der Lochblende, sondern durchsetzt auch den Raum dahinter. Somit wirkt nach dem Verlassen des Wienfilters nur noch die durch die Bewegung von Ladung im Magnetfeld verursachte Lorentzkraft auf die Teilchen. Zusätzlich befindet sich auf der Rückseite der Lochblende eine Detektorplatte, die registriert, wo die Teilchen auf die Platte auftreffen.
Aufbau Massenspektrometer

Funktion:

Auf geladene Teilchen, die sich in einem Magnetfeld bewegen, wirkt senkrecht zur Bewegungsrichtung die Lorentzkraft:$$F_{\rm{Lorentz}}=q\cdot v\cdot B$$ Diese führt dazu, dass die Teilchen auf eine Kreisbahn gebracht werden, wobei die Lorentzkraft die hierfür notwendige Zentripetalkraft ist. Für den Radius dieser Kreisbahn gilt daher:$$F_{\rm{Lorentz}}=F_{\rm{Zentripetal}}\Rightarrow q\cdot v\cdot B=m\cdot \frac{v^2}{r} \Rightarrow r=\frac{m\cdot v}{q\cdot B}$$ Durch den vorgeschalteten Geschwindigkeitsfilter besitzen alle Teilchen die Geschwindigkeit $v=v_{\text{Durchlass}}$.
Mit $v_{\text{Durchlass}}=\frac{E}{B}$ folgt$$r=\frac{m\cdot v_{\text{Durchlass}}}{q\cdot B}= \frac{m\cdot E}{q\cdot B^2}$$ Teilchen unterschiedlicher Masse werden bei gleicher Ladung also auf Kreisbahnen mit unterschiedlichen Radien gebracht und treffen in unterschiedlichen Abständen $d=2\cdot r$ von der Durchlassöffnung auf die Detektorplatte. Aus dem Abstand lässt sich die Masse der Teilchen berechnen mittels$$m=\frac{q\cdot B\cdot d}{2\cdot v_{\text{Durchlass}}}=\frac{q\cdot B^2\cdot d}{2\cdot E}$$

Einschränkungen:

Mit einer solchen Anordnung lassen sich nur Massen von geladenen Teilchen bestimmen.
Ebenso muss die Größe der Ladung bekannt sein, um die Masse genau berechnen zu können. Ansonsten kann man nur auf die spezifische Ladung q/m schließen.
So trifft ein Teilchen mit doppelter Ladung und doppelter Masse die Detektorplatte an der selben Stelle, wie das Teilchen mit einfacher Ladung und einfacher Masse.